College Intel
← Back to colleges

Northeastern Illinois University

Public

Chicago, IL

Visit website ↗

Located in Chicago, IL, Northeastern Illinois University is a public mid-sized school with roughly 3,982 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 75% of applicants. Among reported majors, Computer Science shows the strongest outcomes -- $88,917/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate75%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads3,982
Yield (admits who enroll)18%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$26,960
4-year grad rate18%
Median earnings, 10yr out$52,234

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Northeastern Illinois University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Northeastern Illinois University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans19%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out56%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$53,567/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$69,226/yr
Marketing$69,011/yr
Accounting and Related Services$68,328/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$64,022/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$63,276/yr
Business/Commerce, General$59,853/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$48,247/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$88,917/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$52,176/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$49,141/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions$39,894/yr
History
History$54,071/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$53,121/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$55,569/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$66,269/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$46,565/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$54,301/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$53,848/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$60,545/yr
Economics$58,252/yr
Sociology$53,747/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$44,312/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity426
Typical room charge$7,742
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPAConsidered, not required
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Northeastern Illinois University's acceptance rate?

Northeastern Illinois University in Chicago, IL admits approximately 75% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Northeastern Illinois University cost?

Northeastern Illinois University's total cost of attendance is reported at $26,960 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Northeastern Illinois University require students to live on campus?

No -- Northeastern Illinois University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Northeastern Illinois University against another school?

Open the comparison view