College Intel
← Back to colleges

Johnson C Smith University

Private

Charlotte, NC

Visit website ↗

Located in Charlotte, NC, Johnson C Smith University is a private small school with roughly 1,244 undergraduates. Admissions are moderately selective here -- roughly 45% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Business Administration, Management and Operations (Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $51,371/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate45%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,244
Yield (admits who enroll)46%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$34,923
4-year grad rate34%
Median earnings, 10yr out$42,680

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Johnson C Smith University's numbers?

Check your chances here

How Johnson C Smith University weighs your application

From Johnson C Smith University's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordConsidered
Class rankConsidered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Important
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how Johnson C Smith University actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Johnson C Smith University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans75%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out26%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$42,595/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$51,371/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$40,600/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$38,941/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$44,678/yr
Social Sciences
Criminology$46,215/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,179
Typical room charge$4,086
Typical board charge$3,014

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does Johnson C Smith University look for in applicants?

Per Johnson C Smith University's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is Johnson C Smith University's acceptance rate?

Johnson C Smith University in Charlotte, NC admits approximately 45% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Johnson C Smith University cost?

Johnson C Smith University's total cost of attendance is reported at $34,923 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Johnson C Smith University require students to live on campus?

No -- Johnson C Smith University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Johnson C Smith University against another school?

Open the comparison view