College Intel
← Back to colleges

Ferrum College

Private

Ferrum, VA

Visit website ↗

Ferrum College, in Ferrum, VA, is a private very small school, enrolling around 699 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 89% of applicants. Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services graduates, especially in Criminal Justice and Corrections, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $60,235/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate89%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads699
Yield (admits who enroll)19%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$54,526
4-year grad rate30%
Median earnings, 10yr out$44,296

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Ferrum College's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Ferrum College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans85%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out47%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$60,070/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$42,664/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$42,229/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$60,235/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$49,527/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$37,841/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,293
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Ferrum College's acceptance rate?

Ferrum College in Ferrum, VA admits approximately 89% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Ferrum College cost?

Ferrum College's total cost of attendance is reported at $54,526 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Ferrum College require students to live on campus?

No -- Ferrum College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Ferrum College against another school?

Open the comparison view