College Intel
← Back to colleges

Citadel Military College of South Carolina

Public#8 Regional Universities

Charleston, SC

Visit website ↗

Citadel Military College of South Carolina is a public small school in Charleston, SC, enrolling about 2,705 undergraduates. Admissions are selective here -- roughly 23% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (Engineering), where graduates report median earnings of $88,869/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate23%
SAT range1010–12202025-26 CDS
ACT range21–262025-26 CDS
Undergrads2,705
Yield (admits who enroll)31%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Test scores for the Fall 2025 entering class come from Citadel Military College of South Carolina's own 2025-26 Common Data Set: 29% submitted SAT scores, 15% submitted ACT scores.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$33,8802024-25
In-state tuition & fees$12,5702024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$38,5082024-25
4-year grad rate74%
Median earnings, 10yr out$72,085

Out-of-state students pay $25,938 more per year in tuition and fees (3.1x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Where do you stand against Citadel Military College of South Carolina's numbers?

Check your chances here

How Citadel Military College of South Carolina weighs your application

From Citadel Military College of South Carolina's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankImportant
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresConsidered
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
Talent/abilityConsidered
Character/personal qualitiesVery important
First generationConsidered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceConsidered
State residencyImportant
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workConsidered
Work experienceConsidered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how Citadel Military College of South Carolina actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Citadel Military College of South Carolina weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans36%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out71%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$83,337/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$73,116/yr
Engineering
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$88,869/yr
Mechanical Engineering$83,912/yr
Civil Engineering$81,055/yr
History
History$64,869/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$65,574/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$66,934/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$68,504/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,372
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does Citadel Military College of South Carolina look for in applicants?

Per Citadel Military College of South Carolina's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA, character/personal qualities as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is Citadel Military College of South Carolina's acceptance rate?

Citadel Military College of South Carolina in Charleston, SC admits approximately 23% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Citadel Military College of South Carolina?

Per Citadel Military College of South Carolina's own 2025-26 Common Data Set, the middle 50% of enrolled first-years scored 1010–1220 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile, among students who submitted scores).

What ACT score do I need for Citadel Military College of South Carolina?

Per Citadel Military College of South Carolina's own 2025-26 Common Data Set, the middle 50% of enrolled first-years scored 21–26 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile, among students who submitted scores).

How much does Citadel Military College of South Carolina cost?

Citadel Military College of South Carolina's total cost of attendance is reported at $33,880 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

What is out-of-state tuition at Citadel Military College of South Carolina?

For 2024-25, Citadel Military College of South Carolina's published tuition and required fees were $38,508 for out-of-state students and $12,570 for in-state students -- $25,938 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Citadel Military College of South Carolina require students to live on campus?

No -- Citadel Military College of South Carolina doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Citadel Military College of South Carolina against another school?

Open the comparison view