College Intel
← Back to colleges

Canisius University

Private

Buffalo, NY

Visit website ↗

Canisius University, in Buffalo, NY, is a private small school, enrolling around 1,685 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 72% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Accounting and Related Services (Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $82,563/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate72%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,685
Yield (admits who enroll)15%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$44,322
4-year grad rate69%
Median earnings, 10yr out$60,681

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Canisius University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Canisius University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans53%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out71%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$48,104/yr
Zoology/Animal Biology$40,174/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$82,563/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$70,001/yr
Marketing$66,256/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$62,955/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$54,529/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$39,148/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$45,180/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$60,674/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$45,233/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$57,036/yr
Psychology
Research and Experimental Psychology$51,532/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Human Services, General$51,522/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$65,757/yr
Political Science and Government$62,398/yr
Sociology$58,469/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity925
Typical room charge$6,118
Typical board charge$6,040

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Canisius University's acceptance rate?

Canisius University in Buffalo, NY admits approximately 72% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Canisius University cost?

Canisius University's total cost of attendance is reported at $44,322 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Canisius University require students to live on campus?

No -- Canisius University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Canisius University against another school?

Open the comparison view