College Intel
← Back to colleges

California College of the Arts

Private

San Francisco, CA

Visit website ↗

California College of the Arts, in San Francisco, CA, is a private very small school, enrolling around 990 students. California College of the Arts is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 91%. Its highest-earning reported major is Human Computer Interaction (Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies), where graduates report median earnings of $149,149/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate91%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads990
Yield (admits who enroll)8%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$79,776
4-year grad rate62%
Median earnings, 10yr out$49,414

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against California College of the Arts's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what California College of the Arts weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans48%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out63%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Communications Technologies/Technicians and Support Services
Graphic Communications$31,068/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Human Computer Interaction$149,149/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$59,238/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$44,012/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity732
Typical room charge$14,400
Typical board charge$6,790

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is California College of the Arts's acceptance rate?

California College of the Arts in San Francisco, CA admits approximately 91% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does California College of the Arts cost?

California College of the Arts's total cost of attendance is reported at $79,776 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does California College of the Arts require students to live on campus?

No -- California College of the Arts doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing California College of the Arts against another school?

Open the comparison view