College Intel
← Back to colleges

Bowie State University

Public

Bowie, MD

Visit website ↗

Located in Bowie, MD, Bowie State University is a public mid-sized school with roughly 5,043 undergraduates. Bowie State University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 72%. Its highest-earning reported major is Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Health Professions and Related Programs), where graduates report median earnings of $103,814/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate72%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads5,043
Yield (admits who enroll)25%
Next deadlineDec 1, 2026 (EA)

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Early Action: Dec 1, 2026
  • Regular Decision: Jun 1, 2027

Confirm on Bowie State University's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$25,2202024-25
In-state tuition & fees$9,2182024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$19,9382024-25
4-year grad rate38%
Median earnings, 10yr out$54,537

Out-of-state students pay $10,720 more per year in tuition and fees (2.2x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Bowie State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Academic Common Market

Residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia can pay in-state tuition for a specific major that no public college in their home state offers. You need admission to that major and approval from your home state's coordinator.

Where do you stand against Bowie State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Bowie State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans44%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out31%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$59,995/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$70,427/yr
Communications Technologies/Technicians and Support Services
Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians$56,818/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services, Other$97,030/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$60,746/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$48,707/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$53,181/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$103,814/yr
History
History$68,077/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$67,303/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$55,788/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$54,082/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$57,224/yr
Social Sciences
Sociology$57,075/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$33,841/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,900
Typical room charge$8,082
Typical board charge$5,036

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Bowie State University's acceptance rate?

Bowie State University in Bowie, MD admits approximately 72% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Bowie State University cost?

Bowie State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $25,220 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Bowie State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Bowie State University takes part in the Academic Common Market, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Bowie State University?

For 2024-25, Bowie State University's published tuition and required fees were $19,938 for out-of-state students and $9,218 for in-state students -- $10,720 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

When is the application deadline for Bowie State University?

Bowie State University's deadlines are Early Action Dec 1, 2026; Regular Decision Jun 1, 2027, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does Bowie State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Bowie State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Bowie State University against another school?

Open the comparison view